About Council

Council Elections 2017


The Central Coast Council elections were conducted on Saturday 9 September 2017. For post-election information, go to www.votensw.info

Central Coast Council was formed on 12 May 2016, as a result of the amalgamation of the Gosford and Wyong local government areas to form the Central Coast Local Government Area (LGA).  

The Central Coast LGA comprises the following wards, as shown on the map below: 

Mobile / tablet users: View our Interactive Ward Map

The interactive map also allows you to search your address and find out exactly which ward you live in.

  1. Gosford West Ward
  2. Gosford East Ward
  3. The Entrance Ward
  4. Wyong Ward
  5. Budgewoi Ward

The Central Coast LGA has been divided into the above wards to allow a more equitable representation of Councillors. Each of the five wards will elect three Councillors, making a total of 15 representatives for the region.

Important: It should be recognised that wards are only used under election circumstances and, once the Councillors have been elected, they represent the interests of the entire Central Coast LGA, and do not base decisions on the interest of the ward they are elected in.

Find Out More Information About My Ward

What ward am I registered in?

You will need to know the ward you are registered in, as it will affect the locations where you will be able to vote and the candidates you can vote for.

The N​SW Electoral Commission provides a facility where you can enter your name and address, and it will verify your enrolment as well as the ward in which you are enrolled in. 

Visit the N​SW Electoral Commission Website

Alternatively, you can call the ‘General Enquiries About Voting’ facility of the N​SW Electoral Commission on 1300 135 736.

Who votes for the Mayor?

Your vote will elect the Councillors in your ward. Once elected, the 15 Councillors will then elect the Mayor, by way of a Mayoral Election, at the first Council meeting following the Local Government Elections. 

When and ​where ​can I ​vote?

The election will be held Saturday 9 September 2017, with polling venues open from 8am to 6pm. The location of polling venues will be provided by the NSW Electoral Commission closer to the election date.

Pre-polling will also be available between Monday 28 August and Friday 8 September 2017. The details of these locations will be provided by the N​SW Electoral Commission closer to the commencement of pre-polling.

Applications to lodge a postal vote close on Monday 4 September, with the return of postal votes closing on Monday 11 September 2017.

When​ will I know the results of the election? 

The election is conducted by the N​SW Electoral Commission and the results of the election will be officially declared by the commission once the count has been completed. 

It is likely, but not guaranteed, that this will be within one (1) week of the election, but may take slightly longer in certain circumstances.

More information

For further information please visit the NSW Electoral Commission at votensw.info

For any additional enquiries regarding local government elections for the Central Coast, please contact election@centralcoast.nsw.gov.au

Relevant documents

Candidate Information Presentation - NSW Electoral Commission Election Finance Obligations

Candidate Information Kit

Candidate Awareness Session Presentation

NSWEC Monthly Enrolment Statistics (raw data)

Also In This Section